Lumaktaw sa nilalaman

Juday: Mother host, master mommy

Agosto 21, 2011


NAKIKIUSAP ang aktres na si Judy Ann Santos sa kanyang mga detractors sa mga social networking sites na tantanan na siya. Marami raw kasing nagkokomento tungkol sa kanyang weight.


“I’ve been called siopao, monay and aparador,” aniya sabay amin na nasanay na rin siya kahit paano sa mga pambubuska sa kanya.


“It doesn’t bother me anymore. Let’s just remember that there’s a story in every obesity case. Be careful because your remarks may hurt instead of help the person.”
Noong nakaraang Oktubre ay ipinanganak ni Judy Ann ang kanyang panganay at simula noon ay natapyas na niya ang 34 lbs sa kanyang timbang na nadagdag noong siya ay buntis.


Kuwento niya, walang “hard and fast rules” sa pagbabawas ng timbas. “It’s all about discipline. You don’t need a lot of money to keep fit. You can be sexy at any age,” ayon sa misis ng TV host na si Ryan Agoncillo.


Maliban sa 10-month-old na si Lucho, may adopted daughter sina Judy Ann at Ryan, si Yohan, 7.
Ngayon ay balik-trabaho na si Judy Ann, 33, bilang host ng cooking game show na “Junior MasterChef: Pinoy Edition,” na magsisimula nang ipalabas sa ABS-CBN sa August 20.


Ang local adaptation ng British franchise ay mayroong 20 contestants, may edad 8 hanggang 12, na magpapakitang-gilas sa pagluluto. Magkakaroon ng regular eliminations hanggang isa ang matira na ipoproklamang First Pinoy Junior MasterChef at magwawagi ng P1-million cash prize at culinary scholarship.


Sina chefs Fernando “Ferns” Aracama, Rolando “Lau” Laudico at JP “Jayps” Anglo, mga tinitingala sa larangan ng culinary, ang magsisilbing judges.


“The chefs and I really make sure to taste every dish the kids cook,” paliwanag ni Judy Ann. “If there’s a particular dish we like, nauubos talaga namin. Since I’m on a diet, I adjust. I don’t eat before going to the set. When I get home, I just eat an apple or a cup of yogurt.”Naka-slim-fitting black dress si Judy Ann nang humarap sa mga mamamahayag kamakailan. Isiniwalat niya ang kanyang passion sa pagluluto, mga takot bilang first-time host at ang kanilang relasyon nina ni Ryan.


What made you say yes to hosting?

This project is a dream come true. I’m a fan of the original series. I’ve decided that I want to try on new things, explore. I’ve already proven that I could be a good actor. A reality show is the perfect comeback vehicle for me. It’s stress-free. I just play with the kids.
When Tatay Lauren (Dyogi, director/producer) first showed me the logo, naiyak na ako. I said I’d do it. Tatay knows of my culinary background. Plus, I’m a new mother. He knows I can very well handle 60 kids.


How did you prepare for the show?
I watched the original series. I also asked tips from Ryan. He told me to “just go with the flow, say what you want to say.” He said not to worry if I commit mistakes, the production staff would call my attention anyway. It’s good that the chefs are there to guide me. It also helps that I’m a natural with kids.


Are you aware of online reports linking Ryan to different girls?
Yes, although we never talk about it at home. I’m amazed at how well these people can create stories. They should work as teleserye writers. I never doubted Ryan. I didn’t even ask him to explain about this. He’s a very honest guy.
How did you react to the rumored romance between him and Brazilian Daiana Menezes, his “Eat Bulaga” cohost?
‘Wag na sana lagyan ng malisya. They’re all part of one big family. I’m a witness to this. Let’s not give them a reason to feel ill-at-ease with each other.


Are you also working on film projects?
We started filming “My House Husband” (Octo-Arts Films) last Monday. I’m working with Direk Joey (Reyes) and the cast of “Kasal Kasali Kasalo” (2006) here. I also can’t wait to work on my scenes with Eugene Domingo.
I will also do a movie with Coco Martin (under Star Cinema). The film was supposed to be a Metro Manila Film Festival entry but it wasn’t able to meet the deadline. I guess it’s better if it would have its own play date. It’s a really beautiful story. — Inquirer

No comments yet

Mag-iwan ng puna